General Ex-gratia Compensation Arrangements for Owners, Tenants and Occupants and Rehousing Arrangements for Occupants of Squatter Structures affected by
Land Resumption and Government Development Clearance Exercises


In May 2018, the Development Bureau announced measures to revise the ex-gratia compensation and rehousing (C&R) arrangements for domestic occupants in squatter structures and business undertakings affected by the Government development clearance exercises. On 18 July 2018, the Finance Committee of the Legislative Council endorsed the new measures, under which enhancements are made to the ex-gratia compensation applicable to affected and eligible domestic occupants in squatter structures and business undertakings. In parallel, the Government will also implement the newly introduced rehousing arrangements

Please refer to the pamphlet below to find out more about the revised general ex-gratia C&R arrangements.

 pamphlet


Flexibility in Implementation Arrangements


With the “people-oriented” philosophy as well as the principle of fairness and reasonableness in mind, the Government will, without prejudice to the overall policy directions, exercise some flexibility as set out below for domestic occupants in squatter structures and business undertakings affected by Government development clearance exercises :

(a) consecutive continuous occupation of different surveyed/licenced structures or lots (for open-air/outdoor business undertakings) by domestic occupants in squatter structures or business undertakings in the same affected area (i.e. within the boundary of the area to be cleared for development) may be counted towards the minimum continuous residence/occupation period immediately preceding the date of the Pre-clearance Survey (PCS);

(b) for development projects for which the PCS had already been completed before the announcement of the enhanced ex-gratia C&R package on 10 May 2018, we will take a more lenient approach in assessing the minimum continuous residence/occupation duration of domestic occupants in squatter structures and business undertakings for determining the eligibility for ex-gratia allowances (EGAs) and/or rehousing arrangements by counting not only the length of continuous residence/occupation immediately preceding the date of the PCS but also that after the date of the PCS to 10 May 2018 (i.e. the announcement date of the proposed enhanced ex-gratia C&R package);

(c) for households registered in the PCS but subsequently evicted from surveyed/licenced structures by lot owners (or those who claimed to be owners) before the actual clearance, we will introduce a discretionary mechanism allowing them to apply to the Director of Lands for ex-gratia C&R arrangements on compassionate grounds. The concerned households have to fulfil the same eligibility criteria for ex-gratia C&R arrangements applicable to other households residing in surveyed squatter structures/licenced structures, and have to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director of Lands that their eviction was due to circumstances beyond their control and that they have not received other forms of compensation/rehousing as a result of their eviction; and

(d) for New Development Area projects or other large-scale development projects to be implemented by phases over an extended period of time, the Government will work out a mechanism allowing eligible households affected by clearances in the later phases of those projects to voluntarily apply for early departure from and surrender of their squatter structures, and in turn, early application for the ex-gratia C&R package. This arrangement takes into account the concerns expressed by households to be affected by clearances in the later phases about their having to stay in the vicinity of works areas once the earlier phases of construction have commenced, and about the breaking up of a coherent community. For practical considerations, whether and if yes how the applications would be entertained will be subject to capacity (e.g. whether rehousing units are available ahead of the original due date) and prioritisation of claims (e.g. those closer to the first phase should be given priority).

The Government will further work out the logistics for some of the above flexible arrangements (e.g. the arrangements for inviting applications, applicable dates for assessing EGAs, etc.).

為受政府發展計劃收回土地及清拆行動影響的業主、租客及佔用人
而設的一般特惠補償安排及寮屋住戶安置安排簡介

 

       發展局已於 2018 年 5 月公布措施,修訂為受政府發展清拆行動影響的寮屋住戶和業務經營者而設的特惠補償及安置安排。立法會財務委員會已於 2018 年 7 月 18 日通過新措施下有關向受影響合資格寮屋住戶和業務經營者提供適用的特惠補償安排,政府亦會落實新引入的安置安排。

       經修訂後的一般特惠補償及寮屋住戶的安置安排, 可參考以下小冊子。

 pamphlet


實施安排的彈性處理

       為了秉持「以人為本」的精神以及公平合理的原則,在不影響整體政策方向的情況下,政府會為受發展清拆行動影響的寮屋住戶和業務經營者作出下列的彈性處理-

(a) 寮屋住戶或業務經營者於同一受影響範圍(即同一個將會作發展清拆的範圍內)連續佔用不同已登記/持牌構築物或地段(就戶外/露天業務營運者而言),可獲考慮計算在緊接清拆前登記日期前的連續居住/佔用的最少年期內;

(b) 對於已在 2018 年 5 月 10 日公布經優化的特惠補償及安置方案前已完成清拆前登記的發展計劃而言,我們會以較為寬鬆的方式評估受影響寮屋住戶和業務經營者的最少連續居住/佔用年期,不單計算緊接清拆前登記日期前的連續居住/佔用年期,也會計及清拆前登記日期當日後至 2018 年 5 月 10 日(即公布優化特惠補償及安置方案日期)期間的連續居住/佔用年期,以決定他們是否符合特惠津貼及/或安置的資格;

(c) 對於已在清拆前登記中記錄在案,但其後在政府實質進場清拆前被地段業主(或自稱為業主的人士)着令遷出已登記/持牌構築物的住戶,我們會制定酌情機制,允許這些住戶向地政總署署長基於恩恤理由申請特惠補償及安置安排。這些住戶仍然要符合特惠補償及安置方案下與其他居住在已登記寮屋/持牌構築物住戶相同的資格準則,並須向地政總署署長提出讓後者信納其被着令遷出並不是基於他們可控制的情況及他們並沒有因此而收取其他方式的補償/安置;以及

(d) 就長時間內分階段進行的新發展區或其他大型發展計劃,政府會設立機制,容許受該等計劃較後期階段清拆影響的合資格住戶自願申請提早搬出和交還他們的寮屋構築物,以換取提早申請上樓及領取特惠津貼。此安排考慮到有受較後期階段清拆影響的住戶擔心需要在前期已開始進行建築的工地附近居住,以及分階段的清拆計劃會拆散原有社區。不過,基於實際考慮,政府會否接納申請及如何接納有關申請,必須視乎是否有條件(例如在原定限期前會否有安置單位)及因應緩急先後處理(例如政府會優先考慮較接近第一期的住戶申請) 。

政府會進一步擬訂細節(例如邀請申請的安排、評估特惠津貼的適用日期等),作為彈性安排。