Background Information on
Provision of Public Facilities within Private Developments

 

Public facilities within private developments can broadly be categorized into: (a) Government, Institution and Community ("GIC") facilities such as community halls, elderly centres, etc.; (b) public open spaces (POS); (c) pedestrian passage and vehicular access, e.g. walkways, footbridges and rights of way; and (d) Public Transport Terminus (PTT). As governed by the specific conditions in the land leases or deeds of dedication where appropriate, some of these facilities are handed over to the relevant Government departments upon completion while others are required to be managed and maintained by the private developers or owners on an ongoing basis.
 

2.  The provision of public facilities within private developments for public use may arise under the following circumstances –
     
  (a) land sale – Bureaux / Departments may propose the inclusion of such facilities to meet public needs;
 
  (b) land grant and private development / redevelopment (involving planning permissions and lease modification / land exchange) -
 
    (i) Bureaux / Departments may propose the inclusion of such facilities to meet public needs; or
    (ii) Developers may propose such facilities in their planning applications to the Town Planning Board (TPB). Such requirements may subsequently be imposed as planning conditions by the TPB in approving the planning applications. For development within a “CDA” zone, planning applications to the TPB will need to be made in the form of a Master Layout Plan (MLP). The TPB will impose conditions in approving a MLP.
 
Such requirements are translated into the lease conditions if this is practical (say the development is the subject of a new or modified lease).
 
3.  The incorporation of public facilities in a private development is intended to achieve integrated design, optimization of land use and better site planning or to bring forward the completion of some facilities to serve a wider district or territorial need and match with population intake in development proposals.
 
4.  Separately, there are other circumstances where Mass Transit Railway (MTR) facilities, building set-back for street widening and pedestrian passage through the building may be provided in a private building for public use. As provided for under the Buildings Ordinance, the Building Authority may grant concessions or compensate the owners in the form of exemption of floor space from the gross floor area (GFA) calculation or bonus GFA as follows -
 
  (a) in return for setting aside certain floor space within a private building for MTR facilities. Upon completion of the building, these floor spaces are assigned to the Government, and in turn are disposed of to the railway corporation.
 
  (b) in return for the dedication of land or floor areas of a building for use as public passage (e.g. building set-back for street widening, pedestrian passage through the building). The rights and obligations of the building owner will be set out in a deed of dedication.
 
5.  Generally speaking, GIC facilities, PTT and MTR facilities are handed over to the Government upon completion. As regards the remaining facilities, if they are not required to be handed over to the Government, they will be subject to the relevant provisions in the respective contractual documents in respect of their management, maintenance and opening to the public as follows –
 
  (a) for POS, pedestrian passage and vehicular access, they will be subject to the relevant requirements in the land leases administered by the Lands Department if such requirements have been specified in the leases; and
 
  (b) for building set-back for street widening and pedestrian passage through the building, they will be subject to the relevant requirements in the deeds of dedication administered by the Buildings Department.
 
6.  To ensure that developers have fulfilled the relevant provisions, the Lands Department and the Buildings Department will scrutinise the development projects upon completion to satisfy themselves that all the requirements in the land leases or building plans are complied with, before issuing the certificates of compliance, if applicable, or occupation permits. The two departments will monitor the implementation of the relevant provisions by conducting spot checks and act upon receiving complaints from members of the public.
 
7.  The rights and obligations of the owners are set out in the land leases or deeds of dedication, as the case may be. Generally, owners of the private developments are required to fulfill the following obligations -
 
  (a) permit the public to lawfully use such facilities and not to allow the area to be obstructed, where this is applicable, in accordance with the provisions as prescribed in the land leases or the deeds of dedication; and
 
  (b) manage and maintain such facilities to the satisfaction of the Government.
 
Most of the public facilities are provided for use by the public free of payment with some exceptions, such as public fee-paying car parks or outdoor restaurant seating as specified in the land leases; and the charges for temporary exhibition and display in the Times Square case under the deed of dedication.
 
8.  Being responsible for making such facilities accessible for public use under the land leases or the deeds of dedication, it is reasonable for owners of such developments to adopt a set of reasonable, clear and transparent guidelines for all users to comply with, just as the Government or other public bodies adopt certain rules and regulations in managing public facilities.
 
   
Development Bureau
January 2011
To access to information on the areas within private properties dedicated for public use under deeds of dedication, please visit the Buildings Department website (http://www.bd.gov.hk/english/dedicated_areas.html).
 
To access to “Public Open Space in Private Developments Design and Management Guidelines” and “Report on Consultancy Study on Public Open Space in Private Developments ”, please visit the following website of Development Bureau:-

http://www.devb.gov.hk/en/issues_in_focus/provision_of_public_facilities/index.html

在私人發展項目內提供公眾設施的背景資料
 

私人發展項目內的公眾設施大致可分為這幾類:(a)政府、機構或社區設施,如社區會堂、老人中心等;(b)公眾休憩空間;(c)行人/車輛通道,例如行人道、天橋和公共通道;以及(d)公共交通總站。按有關的地契或「撥出私有地方供公眾使用的契約」(公用契約)的條款規定,一些公眾設施在落成後會交回相關政府部門,另一些則由私人發展商或業主繼續管理及保養。
 

2.      在以下情況,發展商會在其私人發展項目內提供公眾設施,供公眾使用:
     
  (a) 賣地──決策局/部門可建議包括這類設施,以應公眾需求;
 
  (b) 批地和私人發展/重新發展(涉及規劃許可及契約修訂/換地):
 
    (i) 決策局/部門可建議包括這類設施,以應公眾需求;或
    (ii) 發展商可能在向城市規劃委員會(城規會)提交的規劃申請書中建議提供這類設施。城規會在批准規劃申請時最終可把上述規定列為規劃條件。在「綜合發展區」地帶內的發展項目,發展商須以總綱發展藍圖的形式向城規會提出規劃申請。城規會會在審批有關藍圖時加入這類條件。
 
如可行的話,這類規定可成為土地契約條款(例如發展項目涉及新契約或修訂契約)。
 
3.      在發展項目內提供公眾設施,原意是希望能促進綜合設計、善用土地,以及更妥善規劃用地或使某類公眾設施得以早日落成,以滿足較廣的地區或全港需要和應付建議發展項目所帶來的人口。
 
4.      另外,有些情況是在私人樓宇範圍內提供港鐵設施、為擴闊街道而移後樓宇,以及提供穿過樓宇的行人通道,供公眾使用。建築事務監督根據建築物條例在以下情況會給予業主優惠或補償,例如在計算該樓宇的總樓面面積時豁免計算有關空間的面積;或給予額外總樓面面積:
 
  (a) 為補償在私人樓宇內撥出若干空間興建地鐵設施。樓宇落成後,上述範圍會移交政府,然後交予鐵路公司。
 
  (b) 為補償發展商撥出用地或部分地方作公眾通道(例如為擴闊街道而移後樓宇,以及提供穿過樓宇的行人通道)。業主的權利和義務會在公用契約內列明。
 
5.      一般來說,政府、機構或社區設施、公共交通總站及地鐵設施會在落成後移交政府。至於其他設施,假如無需移交政府,則有關的合約文件會就設施的管理、維修及開放予公眾等安排作出規定如下:
 
  (a) 就公眾休憩空間、行人和車輛通道而言,假如由地政總署規管的土地契約內已作出相關規定,則該等設施受相關規定所規管;以及
 
  (b) 就移後樓宇以擴闊街道及穿過樓宇的行人通道而言,規管該等設施的相關規定,載於由屋宇署規管的公用契約內。
 
6.     為了確保發展商履行相關條文,地政總署與屋宇署會在發展項目竣工後進行視察,並確定發展項目符合土地契約或建築圖則內所有規定後,才會發出完成規定事項證明書(滿意紙)(若適用的話)或入伙紙。這兩個部門會透過突擊巡查,以監察有關條款的執行情況,並會在接到市民投訴後採取跟進行動。
 
7.      業主的權利與義務,詳載於土地契約或公用契約內,視乎何者適用。一般來說,私人發展項目的業主必須履行以下義務:
  (a) 按照土地契約或公用契約條文所規定,容許公眾人士合法地使用該等設施,以及確保該等地方暢通無阻(若適用的話);以及
 
  (b) 妥善管理和維修該等設施,達至令政府感滿意的水平。
 
公眾可免費使用大部分的公眾設施,但某些設施除外,例如土地契約指定的公眾收費停車場或戶外食肆座位;以及就時代廣場的個案,根據公用契約,有關人士使用有關範圍作臨時展覽及陳列用途,所需繳付的費用。
 
8.      由 於業主必須根據土地契約或公用契約開放該等設施供公眾使用,因此,讓這類發展項目的業主採用一套合理、清晰而具透明度的指引,供使用者遵從,亦屬合理的做法,正如政府或公營機構亦會依從某些規則及規例來管理其轄下的公眾設施。
 
   
發展局
2011 年 1 月
有關私人物業範圍內撥出供公眾使用的地方資料,請瀏覽以下屋宇署的網頁:
繁體版 - http://www.bd.gov.hk/chineseT/dedicated_areas.html
簡體版 - http://www.bd.gov.hk/sc/dedicated_areas.html
 
有關「私人發展公眾休憩空間設計及管理指引 」及「私人發展公眾休憩空間顧問研究報告」,請瀏覽以下發展局的網頁:

 http://www.devb.gov.hk/tc/issues_in_focus/provision_of_public_facilities/index.html