(Extract of Paragraph 71 to 73 of The Chief Executive's 2018 Policy Address)

Revitalisation of Industrial Buildings

71.  Under the previous revitalisation scheme for industrial buildings, the Government has so far approved a total of 124 applications for wholesale conversion and redevelopment of aged industrial buildings. The scheme provides more floor area to meet Hong Kong’s changing social and economic needs, and makes better use of our valuable land resources. Having reviewed its effectiveness, we have decided to reactivate the revitalisation scheme for industrial buildings. The new scheme has been expanded to include wholesale conversion of industrial buildings for transitional housing use.

72.   The new scheme will include the following measures:

(i)
the Lands Department will accept owners’ applications, on a three-year time-limited basis, and exempt the waiver fees incurred, for wholesale conversion of industrial buildings aged 15 years or above in “Commercial” (C), “Other Specified Uses” annotated “Business” (OU(B)) and “Industrial” (I) zones into permissible planning uses. Compared with the previous scheme, we propose incorporating a new condition that the applicants should designate 10% of the floor area for specific uses prescribed by the Government upon completion of such conversion works;

(ii)
to encourage owners to redevelop industrial buildings constructed before 1987, we will extend the application of the present planning policy about suitably increasing the maximum permissible domestic plot ratio within certain “Residential” (R) zones, so as to allow relaxation of the maximum permissible nondomestic plot ratio by up to 20% for redevelopment projects of these pre-1987 industrial buildings located outside “R” zones in Main Urban Areas and New Towns. Individual applications have to be made to the TPB within three years, and the modified lease should be executed within a specified period after the town planning approval; and

(iii)
we will allow revitalisation of industrial buildings to provide transitional housing. In practice, the Government will exercise flexibility in the application of planning and building design requirements, and charge a nil waiver fee for the specific use of transitional housing, if owners provide transitional housing in portions or entire blocks of industrial buildings located in “C”, “Comprehensive Development Area”, “OU(B)” and “R” zones which have already undergone or will pursue wholesale conversion into non-industrial uses. We would encourage owners to collaborate with non-government institutions to provide transitional housing, so as to provide more suitable accommodation for those yet to be allocated PRH or other grassroots citizens with housing needs. A task force under the THB will provide one-stop, co-ordinated support to facilitate the community in pursuing transitional housing.

73.  Owing to multiple ownership of some industrial buildings, owners may not be able to reach a consensus in the immediate future over wholesale conversion or redevelopment of the buildings. As such, we will also introduce the following measures to optimise the use of existing industrial buildings:

 
(i)
relaxing the waiver application policy on a time-limited basis (for five years initially) to permit the arts and cultural sectors and creative industries to operate at individual units of existing industrial buildings without the need for making separate waiver applications and paying waiver fees, so long as such uses are permitted under the planning regime;

(ii)
with due regard to public safety, widening the permissible uses of buffer floors to cover telecommunications exchange centres and computer/data processing centres, so as to facilitate conversion of lower floors of industrial buildings into non-industrial uses; and

(iii)
promulgating a wider definition for “godown” uses under lease provisions of industrial buildings to cover cargo handling and forwarding operations and recyclable collection centres.

The DEVB will announce the specific details of the above measures in due course, and launch the measures progressively by the end of this year.

(摘录自行政长官2018年施政报告第71至73段)

活化工厦

71.   政府在先前活化工厦计划至今批出合共124宗改装整幢旧工厦以及重建工厦的申请。计划提供更多楼面面积以配合香港不断转变的社会及经济需要,亦善用了珍贵的土地资源。经检讨成效后,我们决定重启工厦活化计划。新计划加入了改装整幢工厦作过渡性房屋用途。

72.    新计划包括以下措施:

(1)
地政总署将于限时三年内接受业主申请改装位于「商业」、「其他指定用途」注明「商贸」( 「商贸」) 及「工业」地带内而楼龄为15年或以上的整幢工厦,作符合规划的用途, 并免收地契豁免书费用; 但有别于先前计划,建议加入额外条件,即申请者须在完成改装工厦后,将10%楼面面积用于政府指定的用途;

(2)
为推动业主重建那些于1987 年前落成的工厦,我们会延伸现时在部分「住宅」地带内适度提高最高住用地积比率的规划政策, 在位于主要市区及新市镇的非「住宅」地带内,容许相关工厦重建项目可放宽最高核准非住用地积比率, 上限为20%; 但个别申请须在限时三年内向城规会提出,并须在获批后于指定时间内完成契约修订;

(3)
容许活化工厦可提供过渡性房屋。具体来说,业主如利用已经或即将整幢改装位于「商贸」、「商业」、「综合发展区」及「住宅」地带的工厦作非工业用途,并在改装后将整幢或部分楼层用作过渡性房屋,政府会弹性处理规划及楼宇设计等规定,并免收作过渡性房屋用途的地契豁免书费用。我们鼓励业主与非政府机构合作,提供过渡性房屋给未获分配公屋或有其他住屋需要的基层市民。运房局辖下的专责小组,将就民间推动的过渡性房屋项目提供一站式的统筹支援。

73.    此外,由于部分工厦业权分散,业主未必能于短期内就改装整幢或重建工厦达成共识,因此我们亦会推出以下措施,以便善用现有工厦资源 ─
 
(1)
在设定期限( 初步为五年) 内放宽申请地契豁免书的政策,让符合规划要求的文化、艺术及创意产业,在无须另行申请地契豁免及缴交豁免费的情况下,于现时工厦的个别单位内运作;

(2)
在顾及公众安全的前提下,扩大缓冲楼层的可准许用途,以涵盖电讯机楼中心和电脑╱数据处理中心用途,促成改装工厦低层楼层为非工业用途;及

(3)
公布工厦地契内注明的「仓库」用途具更广阔的定义,可涵盖货物装卸及货运设施和可循环再造物料回收中心。

发展局稍后会宣布上述措施的具体内容,并在今年年底起陆续实施各个环节。